top of page

Excellence in the Field of Aging Awards

The annual awards are presented to deserving professionals across North Carolina for their commitment, innovation, and proven impact in the aging field. Nominations are accepted each year, mid December - February as announced by the Board of Directors. Awards are presented during a luncheon the last day of the annual North Carolina State Aging Conference.


Eligible recipients of the awards are staff members of organizations or individuals holding current membership in NCAOA. 


Award Categories


Super Star

Honors an employee for the quality of direct service they provide to older adults in their community. Candidates must be front line services delivery workers. 


Guiding Star

Honors a supervisor or manager for quality supervisory skills in the management of programs and staff they provide that benefit older adults.  This award recognizes their ability to supervise and motivate staff as they provide quality work in their community. 


Rising Star

Honors a rising star employee with three or fewer years of work experience in the aging network. This award recognizes their ability to take on leadership roles and an interest in the future of their organization and the field of aging.


Rock Star

Honors a Chief  Executive/Administrative Officer for the quality of leadership and organizational management they provide to their organization and to the aging network.  Candidates must have significant year (candidate is preferred have 5 plus years of work experience) as a Chief Executive or Administrative Officer with their organization.

Reaching for the Stars

Check back here in December 2024 for a Nomination form


Honors an agency or organization that has an innovative and creative program that is working to enrich the lives of older adults. We are looking for programs that are creative but effective in enhancing the lives of older adults.  

How are winners selected? 

The NCAOA Chairperson appoints a three-person impartial review panel made up of NCAOA members within the aging network.  Anyone nominated for an award will not be appointed to the review panel.  The panel will make recommendations for award recipients to the NCAOA Board of Directors for final action.  

bottom of page